Shade Tree Commission

The Shade Tree Commission is a non-profit organization, linked to the Mayor's Office, with the task of restoring and maintaining the city's tree population, in recognition of the value of Pittsburgh's urban trees as one of our city's greatest assets. To that end the commission is dedicated to providing policy makers, City Departments, and the general public with accurate and objective information on public policy issues affecting the urban forest.

The Commission strives to expand projects based on intergovernmental and community partnerships as well as sound forestry practices. The Shade Tree Commission also directs the expenditure of funds from the Shade Tree Trust Fund to advance urban forestry initiatives.

Governing Documents


Fifteen members comprise this Commission:

  • All appointed by Mayor; confirmed by City Council
  • 1 from Forestry Division of Public Works Department
  • 1 from DPW with engineering/construction background
  • 1 from Department of City Planning
  • 1 from Mayor’s Office
  • 1 from Urban Redevelopment Authority
  • 1 from an electric utility
  • The rest from various “educational institutions, community-based organizations, business organizations, and environmental organizations”
  • Majority of members must be City residents.

  • Mardi Isler
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • Richard Butler
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • Lisa Ceoffe, DPW - Forestry Division
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • Jamil Bey
    • Term expires 3/26/2019
  • Matt Erb
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • Emily Mitchell
    • Term expires 7/31/2021
  • Jennifer Arkett, Dusquesne Light
    • Term expires 4/30/2019
  • Lisa Kunst Vavro
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • Guy Costa, Mayor's Office
    • Term expires 5/31/2021
  • Mary Savage
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • Molly Stephany
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • James Stitt
    • Term expires 5/1/2019
  • Andrea Ketzel  DPW - engineering and construction
    • Term expires  7/31/2021
  • Rebecca Kiernan City Planning
    • Term expires 5/31/2021
  • Kristen Spirl
    • Term expires 7/31/2021


  • Held in the City-County Building at 9 AM, third Wednesday of each month (excepting July and December

Contact Information

Lisa Ceoffe
Phone: 412-665-3626
Fax: 412-255-4899