About the Comprehensive Municipal Pension Trust Fund

The Comprehensive Municipal Pension Trust Fund (CMPTF) is comprised of the Municipal Pension Fund, the Firemen’s Relief and Pension Fund, and the Policemen’s Relief and Pension Fund; the City’s three pension funds are invested together per the CMPTF. The CMPTF was created in 1984 as a result of the Pennsylvania Legislature passing Act 205, The Municipal Pension Plan Funding Standard and Recovery Act. The purpose of this Act was to stop the increase in unfunded liabilities of municipal pension plans and to establish a program to make these plans solvent. The Comprehensive Board was forced to pool the assets of municipal, fire, and police plans in order to achieve administrative savings and greater investment earnings. The CMPTF Board consists of seven representatives.

Board Members:

  • The Honorable William Peduto, Mayor
  • The Honorable Michael E. Lamb, City Controller
  • The Honorable Bruce A. Kraus, Council President
  • Ms. Debbie Lestitian, Chief Administrative Officer, CMPTF Chairperson
  • Mr. Ralph Sicuro, CMPTF Vice Chairperson, Firemen’s Relief and Pension Fund Representative
  • Mr. Richard Ruffolo, CMPTF Secretary, Policemen’s Relief and Pension Fund Representative
  • Mr. Ryan Herbinko, CMPTF Treasurer, Municipal Pension Fund Representative

Executive Director: Margaret L. Lanier, Director/Treasurer of Finance, City of Pittsburgh

Contact Information: Adam Hoffman, Internal Auditor: (412) 255-8988: adam.hoffman@pittsburghpa.gov



The phone lines within the City of Pittsburgh's real estate division are not working due to a mechanical malfunction. Please use the email address RealEstateTaxInfo@pittsburghpa.gov if you need to contact the real estate division for any reason. If email is unavailable to you, please call 412-255-2786 and leave a voicemail. The real estate staff will return all calls as quickly as possible. Thank you.