Council District 6
Parent Resources

Hello all! Welcome to the Parent Resource Page where we have a made a series of short lists of resources that families can utilize.  We would also like to hear feedback about the page, the resources, and if you would like to see anything added to this page (the link is provided below).  Thank you for visiting!


CHILDCARE

Centers

Small World Learning: www.smallworldearlylearning.com/
•Phone (412) 391-8250
•Location: 607 Penn Avenue, 2nd Floor
•Location: 960 Penn Avenue, 2nd Floor 

Bright Horizons: www.brighthorizons.com/
•Phone: 877-624-4532.
•Location: 2629 East Carson Street

Tendercare: http://earlyeducationpros.org/tendercare/index.jsp
•Phone: 412-831-7070
•Location: 5189 Library Road, Bethal Park

Kindercare: www.kindercare.com/our-centers/pittsburgh/pa/073097/
•Phone: (412) 765-3973
•Location: 600 Grant St

Shady lane school: www.shadylane.org/
•Phone: 412-243-4040
•Location: 100 North Braddock Avenue

Child’s Way: www.childrenshomepgh.org/childs-way
•Phone: 412-441-4884
•About: Child care for children with special needs.
•Location: 5324 Penn Avenue

ABC’s for Children: www.abcsforchildren.com/
•Phone: 412 344- 4422
•Location: 1630 Greentree Rd.

Programs and Information

Healthy Start, Inc.: www.healthystartpittsburgh.org/
•Phone: 412-247-4009
•Helpline: 412-247-1000
•About: Founded in 1991, Healthy Start’s mission is to reduce the infant mortality rate and the number of low birth weight babies in Southwestern Pennsylvania and the country through a various types of programs.

Childcare Information Services: www.ywcapgh.org/Child_Care_Information_Services.asp
•Phone: 412- 261-CARE (2273)
•About: Child Care Information Services (CCIS) is a state and federally funded program provided through the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of Public Welfare.  Every family who calls for child care referrals or subsidy guidelines is given information about this program.
 

RECREATION CENTERS

Boys and Girls Club
Shadyside: www.bgcwpa.org/main_sublinks.asp?id=10&sid=39
•Phone: 412-681-8575
•Location: 6 Brownell Place

Center Avenue YMCA: www.ymcaofpittsburgh.org/locations/centre-avenue-ymca/
•Phone: 412-621-1762
•Location: 2621 Centre Avenue

Thelma Lovette YMCA: www.ymcaofpittsburgh.org/locations/thelma-lovette-ymca/
•Phone: 412-315-0990
•Location: 2114 Centre Avenue

PNC YMCA: www.ymcaofpittsburgh.org/locations/pnc-ymca/
•Phone: 412-471-9622
•Location: 236 Fifth Avenue

PNC YMCA at the US Steel Tower: www.ymcaofpittsburgh.org/locations/pnc-ymca-steel-tower/
•Phone: 412-745-9622
•Location: 600 Grant Street
 

AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAMS

The Pittsburgh Project: www.pittsburghproject.org/
•Phone: 412-321-1678
•About: Year round organization the repairs homes for elderly homeowners.
•Location: 2801 North Charles Street

YouthPlaces: www.youthplaces.org/
•Phone: 412-434-0851
•About: An after school program for young kids to help them succeed.
•Location: 711 West Commons

Schenley Heights Community Development Program: www.shcdp.org/
•Phone: 412-621-3341
•About: A place in the hill district that allows kids to go and basically stay out of trouble.
•Location: 3171 Ewart Drive

Mount Ararat Community Activity Center: www.macac-inc.org/
•Phone: 412-441-1852
•About: This program is meant to help family qualities by reaching out to them.
•Location: 271 Paulson Avenue

Ozanam Inc.: www.ozanamprogram.org/
•Phone: Boys Call 412-389-4305, Girls Call 412-389-4566
•About: Want to enrich and enhance young adult’s lives through physical sports.
•Location: Ozanam Basketball Program

C.A.R.E.S: www.centerthatcares.org/
•Phone: 412-621-9612
•About: A faith based organization that impacted many families since they opened in the summer of 2000.
•Location: 2701 Centre Ave.

FAME: Fund for the Advancement of Minorities Through Education: www.famefund.org/
•Phone: 412-363-5553
•About: A fund the was put together so that kids can get the education that they need.
•Location: 6031 Broad Street

NEED: www.needld.org/
•Phone: 412-566-2760
•About: Gives young kids the opportunity to reach their highest potential
•Location: 332 Fifth Avenue, 1st Floor
 

HEALTH CENTERS

Most of these clinics will serve everyone regardless of whether they have insurance or not. They have discounts based on income and they have payment plans set in place. Many of the places have at least a review of 3 out of 4 stars for quality of care and services rendered.

Pittsburgh Mercy Family Health Center: www.pmhs.org/pittsburgh-mercy-family-health/
•Phone: 412-697-3260

Be Well! Pittsburgh: bewellpgh.org
•E-mail: bewellpgh@gmail.com

Northside Christian Health Center: www.nschc.org
•Phone: 412-321-4001

Hill House Health Center: www.hillhouse.org
•Phone: 412-392-4400
 

GENERAL PARENT RESOURCES

Pittsburgh Parent: www.pittsburghparent.com/
•About: General parent website for parents in Pittsburgh.

Children’s Hospital of UPMC: www.chp.edu/CHP/for+parents
•About: Links and information on various parent-children programs offered by UPMC.

Carnegie Library: www.carnegielibrary.org/research/parentseducators/parents/
•About: Links to education, child development and child care resources.

Nickelodeon Parents Connect: http://gocitykids.parentsconnect.com/category/pittsburgh-pa-usa/resources/parents-resources
•About: Links to various parent resources in Pittsburgh.

After School Pittsburgh: www.afterschoolpgh.org/
•About: Database of after school programs and summer programs for youth in Pittsburgh.

Allegheny County Dept of Human Services: www.alleghenycounty.us/dhs/education/out-of-school.aspx
•About: Links to various after-school programs located in Allegheny County.

Office of Councilman R. Daniel Lavelle
414 Grant Street, 5th Floor | City County Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Telephone: 412-255-2134 | Facsimile: 412-255-0737

© 2014 | City Of Pittsburgh | City Directory
Search | Employee Email | Cityweb | Policies | Regulations
Questions concerning the website? Contact Us
what's this?