Office of Mayor William Peduto
Allegheny County Sanitary Authority (ALCOSAN)


The Authority's authorized powers include among others, the collection, transportation, treatment and disposal of sewage in Allegheny County, and certain adjacent areas and the collection, transportation, treatment and disposal of such industrial wastes as shall be acceptable to the Authority within said territory. The Authority's Articles of Incorporation provide that the Board of the Authority (the 'Board') shall consist of seven members serving staggered five year terms.'Pursuant to these Articles, three members of the Board are appointed by Allegheny County, three are appointed by the City of Pittsburgh and one is jointly appointed by Allegheny County and the City of Pittsburgh.

Governing Documents

Municipal Authorities Act (1945)
Act 22 of 2001

Appointment Guidelines

7 members

  • 3 from Allegheny County
  • 3 from City of Pittsburgh
  • 1 joint City/County appointment


  • Sylvia C. Wilson (City/County)
    • Term Expires 12/31/2016
  • Greg Jones (City)
    • Term Expires 3/26/2020
  • Corey O'Conner (City)
    • Term Expires 12/31/2017
  • Brenda Smith (City)
    • Term Expires 12/31/2015
  • Harry Readshaw III, Chair (County)
    • Term Expires 12/31/2016
  • John Weinstein (County)
    • Term Expires 12/31/2012
  • Jack Shea (County)
    • Term Expires 12/31/2013

Residency Requirements





Meeting Schedule

Contact Information

330 Preble Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15233

Phone: 412-766-4810



The Office of Mayor William Peduto
512 City County Building, 414 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone: 412-255-2626

what's this?