CITIPARKS

Lifeguard Information

LOVE TO SWIM? NOW SEEKING LIFEGUARDS FOR 2022!

Lifeguards are hired to work at Citiparks Aquatic Facility locations June through Labor Day.  Citiparks offers Lifeguard Certification Training courses prior to the season as well as recertification for experienced lifeguards. Candidates must have a Red Cross Lifeguard Certification valid through September 5, 2022 and additionally are required to submit criminal background clearances and pass a medical exam.

2022 Lifeguard Job Application Link!

Please make sure you meet the following criteria before sending your application:
At least 16 years old by September 6, 2022
A current City of Pittsburgh Resident anf fully vaccinated for COVID-19
Willing to work at any of Citiparks Aquatics Facilities

 

Are you and experienced Lifeguard?  Call our Aquatics Office TODAY--412.323.7928

A RE-CERTIFICATION Class will be held on June 25th from 9 AM to 5PM

If you become a certified Lifeguard through an external organization (i.e. American Red Cross) and join our team we will reimburse your fee.

Call or e-mail the Aquatics Office to get your questions answered:

  • 412-323-7928      
  • aquatics@pittsburghpa.gov 

Lifeguard Training Information:

Citiparks offers Lifeguard Training courses for potential employees. Over the course of our training, candidates will learn the necessary skills to obtain a Red Cross Lifeguard/CPR/AED/First-Aid certification as well as policies and procedures required by the City of Pittsburgh and Allegheny County Health Department.  Please make sure you apply online through the City's employment center.  Current lifeguards are also required to go through pre-employment training and/or recertification.  

All Lifeguard Training Courses will be conducted with COVID-19 Safety Protocols in place to meet City, County and State requirements.

LIFEGUARD TRAINING COURSES:

Lifeguard Training Course 1 - Thelma Lovette YMCA

  • Wednesday April 20, 2022 – 6PM - 9PM
  • Saturday April 23, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM
  • Sunday April 24, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM 
  • Saturday April 30, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM  
  • Sunday May 1, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM 

Lifeguard Training Course 2 - Carrick High School 

  • Wednesday May 11, 2022 – 6PM - 9PM 
  • Saturday May 14, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM 
  • Sunday May 15, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM 
  • Saturday May 21, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM 
  • Sunday May 22, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM 

Lifeguard Training Course 3 - Carrick High School 

*FOR ADVANCED SWIMMERS ONLY

  • Friday June 3, 2022 – 6PM - 9PM
  • Saturday June 4, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM 
  • Sunday June 5, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM  

LIFEGUARD RECERTIFICATION CLASSES:

Recertification Class 1

  • Saturday April 16, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM – Thelma Lovette YMCA 

Recertification Class 2

  • Saturday May 7, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM – Carrick High School 

Recertification Class 3

  • Saturday May 28, 2022 – 9AM - 5PM – Carrick High School

 

// cookie policy