About the Comprehensive Municipal Pension Trust Fund

The Comprehensive Municipal Pension Trust Fund (CMPTF) is comprised of the Municipal Pension Fund, the Firemen’s Relief and Pension Fund, and the Policemen’s Relief and Pension Fund; the City’s three pension funds are invested together per the CMPTF. The CMPTF was created in 1984 as a result of the Pennsylvania Legislature passing Act 205, The Municipal Pension Plan Funding Standard and Recovery Act. The purpose of this Act was to stop the increase in unfunded liabilities of municipal pension plans and to establish a program to make these plans solvent. The Comprehensive Board was forced to pool the assets of municipal, fire, and police plans in order to achieve administrative savings and greater investment earnings. The CMPTF Board consists of seven representatives.

Board Members:

  • The Honorable Ed Gainey, Mayor
  • The Honorable Rachael Heisler, City Controller
  • The Honorable Daniel Lavelle, Council President
  • Ms. Felicity Williams, CMPTF Secretary, Director of Human Resources and Civil Service
  • Mr. Ralph Sicuro, CMPTF Chairperson, Fireman's Relief and Pension Fund Representative
  • Mr. Richard Ruffolo, CMPTF Treasurer, Policeman's Relief and Pension Fund Representative
  • Mr. Mark DePasquale, CMPTF Vice Chairperson, Municipal Pension Fund Representative

Executive Director:  Jennifer Gula, Director/Treasurer of Finance, City of Pittsburgh

Contact Information: Robin Thompson, Financial Adviser : (412) 255-8956 : robin.thompson@pittsburghpa.gov