Task Force

The Hays Woods Task Force is chaired by Former Mayor Tom Murphy and Councilman Corey O’Connor of District 5, which includes Hays Woods. Members of the Task Force include representatives from the Departments of City Planning, City Parks, Public Works, the Office of Councilman Corey O’Connor, Friends of Hays Woods, Allegheny Land Trust, Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy, Baldwin Borough, and the Heinz Endowments.

The Task Force established four subcommittees to go into greater depth on the following topics:

  • Programming and Education
  • Layout, Connectivity and Environmental
  • Management and Organization
  • Development

Future Task Force meetings will begin to identify the opportunities and constraints for Hays Woods, identify some shared guiding principles and draft a scope of work for planning efforts in 2019.

Task Force Members:

Councilman Corey O'Connor Pittsburgh City Council
Tom Murphy Urban Land Institute
Ray Gastil Department of City Planning
Mike Walsh Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
Darla Cravotta Allegheny County, Office of County Executive Fitzgerald
John Barret Baldwin Borough
Michael Knoop Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
Peg McCormack Riverlife
Jacqui Bonomo PennFuture
Roy Kraynyk Allegheny Land Trust
Hannah Hardy Allegheny Health Department
Jayne Miller Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy
Heather Sage Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy
Camila Rivera Tinsley Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy
Joey Lynn Ulrich Venture Outdoors
Ilyssa Manspeizer Landforce
Sarah Koenig Audubon Society of Western Pennsylvania
Lisa Brown Economic Development South and Lincoln Place resident
Ryan Herbinko 31st Ward Community Action Group and Lincoln Place resident
Sonya Tilghman Hazelwood Initiative
Ross Chapman Department of Parks
Karen Abrams Heinz Endowments
Sylvia Fields Eden Hall Foundation
Kate St. John Friends of Hays Woods
Patrick Bondi Baldwin Borough Shade Tree Commission
Dave Depretis Baldwin Borough, Mayor
Anthony Asciolla Borough of Baldwin