DEPARTMENT OF CITY PLANNING

Disability Service Facilitator Program

Disability Service Facilitators (DSFs) are City staff members appointed to serve as liaisons between their departments and people with disabilities in order to increase efficiency and quality of services and help the City comply with the ADA.

The City of Pittsburgh is committed to eliminating barriers for individuals with disabilities and promoting equitable access to its services and programs. In addition to the City’s ADA Coordinator, Disability Service Facilitators will increase comprehensive support for people with disabilities by making systemic changes to service.

Each Director has selected a permanent staff member to help oversee their department’s ADA compliance. This staff member will understand how the ADA works in their department, oversee resolution of potential issues, and influence front-line practices as they relate to ADA compliance.

  • The responsibilities of Disability Service Facilitators will include:
  • Act as a liaison between the department and the ADA Coordinator
  • Possess an understanding of how the ADA interfaces with their department
  • Advise department director and ADA Coordinator of ADA policy, protocol, implementation, and related accessibility issues
  • Work with department and ADA Coordinator to develop action plans to resolve areas of noncompliance and increase equitable delivery of services
  • Serve as point person for implementation of their department’s accessibility measures 
  • Attend City-County Task Force on Disabilities meetings as necessary
  • Attend online or in-person trainings on ADA compliance

DSF Press Release

 

Disability Service Facilitators

Department of Mobility and Infrastructure
Cassandra Leopold
Principle Planner
cassandra.leopold@pittsburghpa.gov

 

Department of Public Works
Marcelle Newman
Assistant Director
marcelle.newman@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2488

 

Human Resources and Civil Service
Charlene Holder
HR Manager
charlene.holder@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2708

 

Pittsburgh Commission on Human Relations
Wes Speary
Deputy Director 
wesley.speary@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2600

 

Public Safety
Zoe Burch
Executive Assistant
zoe.burch@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-8615

Jonathan Furman
Park Ranger
jonathan.furman@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 605-8527

 

Emergency Medical Services
Mark Larkin
District Chief
mark.larkin@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 485-8577

 

Police Department 
Officer Matthew Schlick
Police Officer
matthew.schlick@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 422-6520

Julie Stoops
Police Lieutenant 
julie.stoops@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 488-8326

 

Fire Department
Lisa Epps-Cuda 
Fire Inspector & Fire Prevention Officer
lisa.epps-cuda@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2866

 

Mayor's Office
Alicia Carberry 
Operations Assistant 
Alicia.Carberry@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2439

 

Parks and Recreation 
Ross Chapman
Director 
ross.chapman@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2371/2372

Katheryn Vargas
Assistant Director of Community Recreation/Youth and Families
kathryn.vargas@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2348

Edward Ulrich
Recreation Leader
Edward.Ulrich@pittsburghpa.gov

 

Permits, Licenses, and Inspections 
Monica Bender
Assistant Director, Licensing and Administration
monica.bender@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-8905

 

Innovation and Performance
Alexandra Lewis
Senior Enterprise Application Administrator
alexandra.lewis@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2152

Todd Smith
Digital Community Specialist
todd.smith@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2152

Smyth Welton
Print & Digital Content Manager
smyth.welton@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2171

Wendy Urbanik
311 Manager
wendy.urbanic@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-4784

 

Office of Community Health and Safety
Josh Schneider
Critical Communities VISTA Member
joshua.schneider@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-0819

 

Office of Management and Budget
Peter McDevitt
Senior Asset Management Analyst
peter.mcdevitt@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-8924

 

Sports & Exhibition Authority Facilities
Bill Williams
Facilities Director
bwilliams@pgh-sea.com
(412) 393-0200

 

Law Department
Sarah Steers 
Assistant Solicitor
sarah.steers@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2027

Jessica Michael
Assistant Solicitor
jessica.michael@pittsburghpa.gov
(412) 255-2004