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1.0 REPORTING SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE.
1.1 Persons required to report suspected child abuse must comply with Section 6311 of the Pennsylvania Child
Protective Services Law (23 Pa.C.S.A. 6301, et Seq.) in regards to persons required to report suspected child abuse
per section 6313(a).
1.1.1 General Rule:

Persons who, in the course of their employment, occupation or practice of their profession, come in
contact with children shall report or cause a report to be made in accordance with section 6313(relating to
reporting procedures) when they have reasonable cause to suspect on the basis of their medical,
professional or other training and experience, that a child coming before them in their professional or
official capacity is an abused child. Except with the respect to confidential communications made to an
ordained member of the clergy. which are protected under 42 Pa.C.S.5943 (relating to confidential
communications to clergymen), the privileged communication between any professional person required to
report and the patient or client of that person, shall not apply to situations involving child abuse and shall
not constitute grounds for failure to report as required by this chapter.

Enumeration of persons required to report: Persons required to report include, but not limited to, any
licensed physician, osteopath, medical examiner, coroner, funeral director, dentist, optometrist,
chiropractor, podiatrist, medical intern, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, hospital personnel
engaged in admission, examination, care, or treatment of persons, Christian Science practitioner, member
of clergy, school administrator, school teacher, school nurse, social worker, day-care center worker or any
other child care or foster care worker, mental health professional, peace officer or law enforcement official.

Reporting procedures:
Reports from persons required to report shall be made immediately by telephone and in writing within 48
hours after the oral report to the appropriate county agency, CYF

Pittsburgh Bureau of Police (PBP) personnel responsibilities when physical abuse or sexual assault of a
child is suspected.

1.1.4.1 All Pittsburgh Bureau of Police personnel who come in contact with a child, in which physical
abuse or sexual assault is suspected, shall start or cause to be started, a criminal investigation into
the suspected abuse, to include a written report. Per section 6311 of the Pennsylvania Child
Protective Service Law (23 Pa.C.S.A.$6301, et seq.) in regard to person required to report
suspected child abuse per section 6313 (a), PBP personnel shall immediately via oral report to the
Department of Human Services of the Commonwealth via the established Statewide, toll —free
number— (Childline) AND a written report, which may be submitted electronically,
within 48 hours to the Office of Children, Youth & Family (CYF). Officer must include in their
investigative report that Childline and CYF were both contacted and a copy of the report was
provided to CYF via fax or electronic means within 48 hours. All normal criminal investigative
procedures shall be followed. Along with this investigation, the PBP primary concern is for the
safety and welfare of the child.

1.1.4.1.1 The investigating officer must notify, as soon as possible, the Sex Assault /Family Crisis
Unit and discuss the case with a detective or supervisor. If the investigation is between
the hours of 2400hrs-0800hrs, the investigating officer will notify the Mobile Crime
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Unit. Detective. The Mobile Crime Unit Detectives will notify the Sex Assault/ Family
Crisis (SAFC) supervisor if the case merits immediate action.

1.1.4.1.2 If a child is suspected of being physically or sexually abused that child will be

transported immediately to either Mercy or Children’s hospital for medical treatment.

1.1.4.1.3 A forensic interview must be conducted by a certified hospital staff member or a

Pittsburgh Bureau of Police SAFC Detective only.

To be included in the investigation and related reports, but not limited to, should be:

1.142.1
1.142.2
1.1.423
1.1.42.4
1.1.425
1.1.42.6

1.1.42.7
1.1.42.8

1.142.9

The names and addresses of the child and parents and all other persons, eg. babysitter,
relatives, etc., responsible for the child.

Where the suspected abuse occurred and the time or time period of the suspected abuse.
The age and the sex of all subjects in the investigation.

The nature and extent of the suspected child abuse, including any evidence of prior
abuse to the child or siblings of the child.

The name and relationship of the person(s) responsible for causing the suspected abuse,
if known, and any evidence of prior abuse by that person(s).

Information in regards to the family composition.

Identify the source of the report and where that person may be reached.

Any actions taken by the reporting source and/or the investigating officer, including the
taking of photographs and x-rays, removal or keeping of the child or notifying other
agencies.

All other information required for a complete and detailed investigation.

1.1.4.2.10 Once the investigating officer/detective has reasonable facts, they are to notify

Allegheny County Children Youth and Family without delay.

1.1.4.2.11 Officers must include in their investigative report that Childline and CYF were both

contacted via oral report and a copy of the report was provided to CYF via fax or
electronica means within 48 hours.
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