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1.0 POLICY/PURPOSE:

1.1 To outline the procedure for reporting occupational injuries, illnesses, and exposures to infectious diseases.

1.2 To clarify the process by which Workers” Compensation claims are handled.

2.1 The workers compensation transitional duty policy is to establish procedures regarding transitional duty job
assignments for employees who have been injured on duty.

2.0 DEFINITIONS

2.2 Workers” Compensation — an employer provided benefit that compensates an employee who suffers a work-related
injury or illness. It provides payments to the injured worker through a set of rules and regulations known as the
Pennsylvania Workers” Compensation Act, which governs Workers” Compensation programs throughout
Pennsylvania.

2.3 Occupational Injury, Illness or Infectious Disease Exposure — an occupational injury, illness, or infectious disease
exposure that occurs as a direct result of an employee performing his or her job tasks.

2.4 Eligible Personnel—for purposes of this policy, any full time sworn member suffering from an on duty injury,
requiring treatment by a licensed health care provider; and who. because injury is temporarily unable to perform their
the regular assignment, but is capable of performing an alternative assignment.

2.4 Transitional duty is temporary work that you may be offered before you are fully recovered.
3.0 GENERAL RESPONSIBILITIES

3.1 Except for exigent circumstances, it is the responsibility of the individual employee to initiate action on all reporting
procedures and claims.

3.2 Transitional Duty—the Administrative office will seek to provide temporary assignments to transitional duty work for sworn
employees of the police department who are injured on duty and cannot fulfill their assigned duties. Transitional duty
assignments shall be based upon availability of an appropriate temporary assignment.

4.0 GENERAL PROCEDURES FOR REPORTING INJURY/JLLNESS/POSSIBLE INFECTIOUS DISEASE
EXPOSURE OR FILING CLAIMS

4.1 Employees who sustain an occupational injury, illness, or possible infectious disease exposure shall report their injury.
illness, or exposure to their supervisor as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the injury, illness, or

exposure.

4.2 Employees shall call_ to report their injury. illness. or exposure to UPMC Work Partners Claims
Management Services as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the injury, illness, or exposure.

4.3 The employee’s supervisor shall provide the employee with the following:

4.3.1 A copy of the “NOTICE CONCERNING MEDICAL TREATMENT FOR YOUR WORK RELATED INJURY OR
ILLNESS.” This two-sided document lists the current panel register of Medical Providers.

4.3.2 A copy of the “WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INFORMATION FORM.”

4.3.3 The employee shall sign these forms to acknowledge receipt and his or her understanding of said form.
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4.4 A current panel listing of medical providers will also be available on the I: Drive in the “Police Officer’s Toolkit.”

4.5 The supervisor shall then provide the employee with copies of all signed forms and shall forward the originals to the
Zone/Section clerk along with the properly completed “PITTSBURGH BUREAU OF POLICE WORK INJURY
REPORT” form, the “INCIDENT INVESTIGATION REPORT,” and the DPS Form #1 “REPORT OF
POSSIBLE INFECTIOUS DISEASE EXPOSURE.

4.6

Employees shall proceed to one of the designated panel providers if medical treatment is needed.

4.6.1 Toreceive medical treatment for a non-emergency occupational injury during normal working hours, Pittsburgh
Bureau of Police employees must go to a healthcare provider listed on the City’s current workers compensation
panel.

4.6.2 A current panel listing of medical providers is available on the I: Drive in the “Police Officer’s Toolkit.”

4.6.3 If a PBP employee requires emergency medical care, the employee may seek treatment at the closest

Emergency Department for the initial care, but any additional medical treatment must be obtained by one of
the providers found by consulting the panel listing of medical providers available on the I: Drive in the “Police
Officer’s Toolkit.”

4.6.3.1 It should be noted that UPMC Mercy Emergency Room is the Panel ER for the City of Pittsburgh.
4.6.3.2 If possible — officers should attempt to receive treatment at Mercy ER, unless there is an immediate
need to seek initial treatment at another emergency room.

4.64  To receive medical treatment for a non-emergency occupational injury during normal working hours,

Pittsburgh Bureau of Police employees must go to a healthcare provider listed on the City’s current workers
compensation panel.

4.6.5 A current panel listing of medical providers is available on the I: Drive in the “Police Officer’s Toolkit.”

4.6.6

4.6.7

4.6.8

4.6.9

The injured or ill employee shall complete the “Pittsburgh Bureau of Police Work Injury Report” unless the
employee is reporting a possible exposure to infectious disease, in which case the employee shall complete the
DPS Form #1 “Report of Possible Infectious Disease Exposure.” The completed form shall be submitted to
the employee’s supervisor.

If the injured, ill or exposed employee is unable to complete the required form(s), it is the responsibility of
the employee’s supervisor to complete the form(s).

If the injured, ill or exposed employee contacts UPMC Work Partners Claims Management Services by
phone to report an occupational injury. illness or exposure, the member shall also be required to submit the
appropriate injury forms as described above.

The injured, ill or exposed employee’s shift supervisor shall complete the “City of Pittsburgh Incident
Investigation Form™ and submit the form to the Zone/Section Commander who shall complete the
investigation.

4.7 The injured, ill or exposed employee’s shift supervisor shall complete the “City of Pittsburgh Incident
Investigation Form” and submit the form to the Zone/Section Commander who shall complete the investigation.

5.0 GENERAL PROCEDURES FOR PROPER DISTRIBUTION OF INJURY/ILLNESS/POSSIBLE DISEASE
EXPOSURE CLAIMS

5.1 The Zone/Section Clerk shall make proper distribution of the following paperwork:

5.1.1 “CITY OF PITTSBURGH INCIDENT INVESTIGATION FORM”
5.1.1.1 ORIGINAL to the Office of the Deputy Chief.
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5.1.2 “CITY OF PITTSBURGH BUREAU OF POLICE WORK INJURY REPORT FORM”

5.1.2.1 ORIGINAL to the Office of the Deputy Chief
5.1.2.2 Photocopy to Department of Human Resources & Civil Service - Employee Compensation
5.1.2.3 Photocopy to Employee

5.13

“DPS Form #1 “REPORT OF POSSIBLE INFECTIOUS DISEASE EXPOSURE”

5.1.3.1 ORIGINAL to the Office of the Deputy Chief

5.1.3.2 Photocopy to Department of Human Resources & Civil Service - Employee Compensation

5.1.3.3 Photocopy to Employee

5.1.4 “NOTICE CONCERNING MEDICAL TREATMENT FOR YOUR WORK RELATED INJURY OR ILLNESS”

5.1.5¢

5.1.4.1 ORIGINAL to the Office of the Deputy Chief

5.1.4.2 Photocopy to Department of Human Resources & Civil Service - Employee Compensation

5.1.4.3 Photocopy to Employee

'WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INFORMATION FORM.”

5.1.5.1 ORIGINAL to the Office of the Deputy Chief

5.1.5.2 Photocopy to Department of Human Resources & Civil Service - Employee Compensation

5.1.5.3 Photocopy to Employee

6.0 MEDICAL TREATMENT

6.1 You are required by law to treat with one of the designated City of Pittsburgh providers for 90 days from the date of your
first visit.

6.1.1 Failure to treat with these providers may result in the City of Pittsburgh denying responsibility for payment of bills
for the first 90 days of treatment.

6.1.2 Should it be necessary to treat with a specialist not on the designated panel, the panel physician will make the
appropriate referral.

6.2 After the initial 90-day period, if continued treatment is prescribed, you may choose to go to another licensed
physician or health care provider for treatment.

6.2.1 You must notify UPMC Work Partners of this action within five (5) days of the visit to the provider of your choice.

6.2.2 Bills associated with such treatment of a work-related injury or illness will be paid if the licensed physician or
health care provider files reports as required. (These reports must be filed within 21 days after the first visit and, at

1

east once a month for as long as treatment continues).

7.0 RECURRENCE OF INJURY

7.1 Complete the same forms as outlined above and follow the same procedure outlined above. A new “City of
Pittsburgh Bureau of Police Work Injury Report Form” is required to explain the nature of any recurrence.

7.1.1 The word “RECURRENCE?” shall be written across the top of the “City of Pittsburgh Bureau of Police Work
Injury Report Form.”

8.0 RETURN TO WORK

8.1 When the officer is released to return to work, either full duty or transitional duty, the officer shall deliver the medical
release in person to the Public Safety/Police Personnel (who will coordinate with the appropriate office) Office
between 0700 and 1500 hours Monday through Friday.

8.1.1 The medical release shall be delivered immediately after it is received from the physician.
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8.1.2 If the release is received after the above listed hours, it shall be delivered on the next business day.

8.2 The Chief’s Office will complete a PBP Form #70.2, “Return to Work Form”™ for full duty and transitional duty
assignment and send it to the following locations:

8.2.1 The Commander to which the officer is currently assigned.
8.2.2 The Commander at the location where the officer’s payroll is completed.
8.2.3 The Assistant Chief of the Branch to which the officer is currently assigned.
8.2.4 The Training Academy.
8.2.5 The officer’s personnel file.
8.2.6 UPMC Work Partners.
8.2.7 The Department Business Administrator of Police Personnel & Finance and Administrative Specialist.
8.3 If the officer returns to their duty location without the “Return to Work Form.” they will not be permitted to work.

8.4 The Commander to whom the officer is currently being assigned will check with the Training Academy to ascertain if this
officer does or does not have all the current training. If training is not current, the Commander must arrange training with

the Training Academy
8.5 The City requires that persons assigned to arduous or non-sedentary work. as determined by the Civil Service

Commission, who are off of work due to injury for 15 or more consecutive calendar days, including pass days, shall be
required to pass a physical examination by the Civil Service doctor prior to returning to work.

8.6 The process for visiting the Civil Service doctor begins at UPMC Work Partners.

8.7 If the officer is released to return to work, the medical release must be returned to the Administrative Specialist, who
will follow the procedure outlined above.

8.8 Itis the responsibility of the individual employee to initiate contact with the Chief’s Office when released to return to
work following a work—related injury, illness, or exposure. The individual employee is also responsible for
maintaining contact with the Chief’s Office to receive further instructions, if any. during the “return to work™ process.

9.0 TRANSITIONAL DUTY

9.1 If an employee is released by her/his physician for transitional duty, they shall deliver the medical release in person to
the Chief’s office or their designee (Deputy Chief’s Office).

9.2 The Chief of Police has the discretion to allow for transitional duty and to extend maximum time limits for transitional
duty outside of the confines of this policy. Transitional duty will be evaluated separately based on the needs of the
department and whether a transitional duty assignment is available at the time. Transitional duty is strictly temporary
and should not exceed 12 months in duration. After 12 months personnel on limited duty assignment are to be
reevaluated by the Chief of Police.

9.3 The limited duty assignment for the employee must conform to any restrictions imposed by the physician and cannot
involve any type of law enforcement activity. The employee will be required to wear civilian clothing appropriate for a
business environment, not carry a firearm and will not be allowed to work any police or emergency service related extra
jobs until the physician returns the employee to full duty status. The employee will not be allowed to drive a marked
agency vehicle while on transitional duty.

9.4 Assignment to transitional duty shall not affect an employee’s pay classification, pass days and shift.

10.0 SUBMISSION OF MEDICAL BILLS AND PRESCRIPTIONS

10.1 Medical Bills related to the injury should be submitted to the zone/unit clerk who will make a copy of the original
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report and submit it with the bills to UPMC Work Partners or to the Assistant Director, Employee Compensation.

11.0 PROCEDURES FOR PAYROLL REPORTING OF WORKER’S COMPENSATION

11.1 The worker's compensation process takes approximately 21 days from the time of application until the notification of the
decision. During this period, the employee's payroll status normally will be "A/X" and the employee will receive no
compensation.

11.2 The employee may choose to receive income from the city for a specified amount of time while waiting for a decision
concerning his/her claim for worker's compensation by taking deferred holidays, vacation, sick or personal leave. The
employee may choose any of the following options singly or in combination:

11.3 A/X means that no pay will be received for work days missed until the decision to grant workers compensation is made.
If compensation is granted, A/X days will be reimbursed to the employee by the City. If compensation is not granted,
A/X days will be charged as unpaid leave.

11.4 A/S means that the employee has chosen to utilize sick day(s) pending a determination of Worker's Compensation. If
compensation is granted, A/S days will be restored by the City and reimbursed to the employee by the City.

11.5 A/V means that the employee has chosen to utilize vacation day(s) pending determination of Worker's Compensation. If
compensation is granted, A/V days will be restored by the City.
11.6 A/W means that the employee has chosen to utilize personal day(s) pending determination of Worker's Compensation. If

compensation is granted, A/W days will be restored by the City and reimbursed to the employee by the City

11.7 A/V means that the employee has chosen to utilize vacation day(s) pending determination of Worker's Compensation. If
compensation is granted, A/V days will be restored by the City.

11.8 A/W means that the employee has chosen to utilize personal day(s) pending determination of Worker's Compensation. If
compensation is granted, A/W days will be restored by the City and reimbursed to the employee by the City.

11.9 A/D means the employee has chosen to utilize deferred holidays pending determination of Worker's Compensation. If
compensation is granted, the deferred holiday(s) will be restored by the City.

11.10 “A” means that the employee has been approved for Worker's Compensation by the Compensation manager and will
be paid for any date with this mark.

11.11 All police officers who are absent due to a work—related disability may choose to use accumulated leave during
missed work days until such leave is exhausted. If the employee is granted reimbursement through Worker's
Compensation, all of these days will be restored to the employee. The employee must reimburse the City for any
payments received through leave.

11.12 No employee may receive, through wages and Worker's Compensation payments, an amount greater than his/her
base pay during a period of disability.

Approved by:

S e

Scott Schubert
Chief of Police






