Pittsburgh Bureau of EMS Holds Swearing-in and Awards Ceremony

PITTSBURGH, PA (October 30, 2019) – On Tuesday, October 29, the Pittsburgh Bureau of EMS held a swearing-in and awards ceremony in Council Chambers.

Three new paramedics were sworn in, while one EMT was promoted to paramedic.

Quinton Gravagna, Michael Janczewski, and Michael Limbacher were sworn in as paramedics.

EMT Lawrence Turner was promoted to paramedic.

Pittsburgh Bureau of EMS Chief Ronald Romano recognized Turner’s sacrifice of studying to reach his goal, while working full-time. He also congratulated the new paramedics and thanked their families for supporting them in the work they do for the citizens of Pittsburgh.

Medical Director Dr. Ronald Roth thanked them for choosing a career to help others.

“You will always be the most important part of EMS because of your compassion and your goal to always do the right thing,” said Dr. Roth.

Public Safety Director Wendell Hissrich recognized the rich history of EMS in Pittsburgh and the bright future of the Bureau.

“We have one of the best emergency medical services in the country, supported by the first responder community.

“The new faces are the future of EMS within the City of Pittsburgh,” said Hissrich.

Mayor William Peduto acknowledged the pivotal role of EMS during the tragic shooting at the Tree of Life Synagogue on October 27, 2018, with EMS working side by side with SWAT to help save lives.

“May they be an example to you of what you can do in this career. And it’s not really a career, it’s a vocation because many people wouldn’t choose to be with people at their scariest moment,” said Peduto. 

EMS District Chief Mike Rogers presented special awards to one civilian and six EMS workers who went above and beyond the call of duty to help the public.

Dennis Robinson - Civlilan Service Award 

District Chief Jeffrey Meyer - EMS Cross Award

Paramedic Patrick Gilchrist - Meritorious Service Award 

Crew Chief Justin Sypolt - Medical Director's Award

District Chief Antwain Carter - Meritorious Service Award

Paramedic Michael Bess - Meritorious Service Award 

Paramedic Dawnshalay Williams - Meritorious Service Award 





Cara Cruz
Assistant Public Information Officer
Public Safety


Please check here for the latest alerts on the COVID-19 virus.