Pittsburgh Bureau of EMS Holds Swearing-In and Awards Ceremony.

PITTSBURGH, PA (May 9, 2022) – Pittsburgh Bureau of Emergency Medical Services held an awards ceremony followed by a swearing-in Monday for paramedics. The ceremony was held in Council Chambers at the City-County Building. 

Two new paramedics, Arica Greenhow and Benjamin Upham were sworn in during the ceremony.

EMS Chief Ronald Romano addressed the families and friends.  

“I welcome you to congratulate the bureau's members on their accomplishment. It now falls to the newly promoted paramedics to continue the tradition of Pittsburgh EMS” 

Medical Director for the City of Pittsburgh, Dr. Ronald Roth praised Pittsburgh EMS for always leading the way in EMS standards.  

“With all that has been going on in healthcare, you would think Pittsburgh EMS would be happy dealing with the standard. That is not what Pittsburgh EMS does; we are always raising the bar.”  

“We look forward to seeing what you will accomplish,” said Public Safety Director Lee Schmidt. “We thank your families as public safety is a 24/7 job and not Monday through Friday.”  

Mayor Ed Gainey administered the oaths of office after expressing gratitude to EMS Command staff. 

“The sacrifice you make going into unstable situations can change a person’s life. We do not see the process you perform, only the outcome. Without you the city wouldn’t be safe.” 

Jeffrey Gapinski received a Civilian Service Award for his actions with a male in crisis who entered the Allegheny River. 

Crew Chief Shawn Eigenbrode, Paramedic Nicolas D’Ambrosio, Paramedic Chris Dobbins, Crew Chief Adam Palmer, Paramedic Matthew Branter, and District Chief Antwain Carter all received awards for their performance of duty while on and off the job. 


Congratulations to all!  




Maurice Matthews
Assistant Public Information Officer
Public Safety